Thunder: A New Album By Rick Lee James – Now Available

Thunder Music Videos
Rick Lee James is songwriter who doesn’t just turn a line, but cultivates lyrics that are planted firmly in deep theological roots. On Thunder, his latest album, he composes with the complexity and depth of a musician who has learned the craft by living the life. Thunder is set to be released independently in February 2018 through James’ company, Voices In My Head Productions. The album was recorded at Old Bear Studio in Buffalo, New York with producer Chris Hoisington (Brothers McClurg). This 13 track album combines James’ thoughtful melodies, instrumental versatility, and spoken words to create a vibe where artistry and liturgy meet. The lead single, "Thunder", is a never before released song by the late Rich Mullins, co-written with Lowell Alexander and Phil Naish, accompanied by a beautiful new music video.
 Thunder Album Reviews:

Reviews From New Release Today, CCM Magazine, and more 

Paul Baloche Quote
Paul Baloche - Dove Award Winning Singer and Songwriter 
“I've watched Rick grow as an artist and songwriter for many years. Congratulations brother on an excellent independent release! Bravo!!"
Mike Harland Quote
Mike Harland - Director of Lifeway Worship Resources
“Rick Lee James helps us discover something through his Thunder project. We all know that thunder follows after lightning. This project echoes the power of the word of God in song. RLJ is a poet and singer. You will not only enjoy listening, you'll be drawn in to the source -  Jesus.”




  1. Reading: Matthew 21: 12-14 :35
  2. Thunder [Rich Mullins, Lowell Alexander, Phil Naish] 3:46
  3. The Love of Christ [Rick Lee James] 3:39
  4. Whom Have I In Heaven But You? (Psalm 73) [Rick Lee James] 4:43
  5. Glory To God the Trinity (Trinity Hymn) [Rick Lee James] 3:45
  6. Love Divine, All Loves Excelling (Perfect Love) [Charles Wesley, Rick Lee James] 4:30
  7. Reading: Prayer For Peace :43
  8. Love Our Enemies (Rick Lee James) 4:29
  9. Be My All [Randy Cox, Rick Lee James] 3:34
  10. The Lord Is Our Shepherd (To The Babies We Lost) [Rick Lee James] 4:34
  11. Psalm 27: 13-14 :13
  12. Stay [Rick Lee James] 4:53
  13. My Master Was So Very Poor [Henry Lee, Rick Lee James] 3:14

ALBUM Lyrics and CCLI Numbers: Music for the Album   The People Who Made It Happen:Rick Lee James: Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Tenor Guitar Piano, Mellotron, Hand Claps, BGVsChris Hoisington: BGVs, Thunder MakerAnthony Hoisington: Mellotron, Hammond B3, Fender RhodesPaul Mitro: Drums, Thunder MakerJeremy Thompson: Electric Guitar, Mellotron, BassEngineered by Paul Mitro, Ronnie Schrock, Chris Hoisington and Anthony HoisingtonProduced by Chris HoisingtonPhotographs by Sarah Bridgeman and Jessica ValleAlbum Designer Jessica Valle  Special Thanks To Our BackerClub Members Who Helped To Make This RecordMainon SchwartzAlan RaismanStian HerbergRoger SmithWally DanielMark Baker Special Thanks To Donors Who Gave So Generously and Selected Their Name on the Album Website as a PerkThe Dale and Rebekkah Buffin FamilyTony PullinsTim SmithRick IncorvatiPhil and Dee HaleIan ZumbackKent B PeltonTimothy Bush Photos